“Yes, I nailed it!” On writing and resonance


Photo credit: mconnors from morguefile.com

As a blogger, you put your writer’s soul on the line every time you post. Knowingly or not. I have had some very kind feedback in recent months, and I say to those folk, thank you. It means something. No, let me rephrase that. It means everything.

I’ve always been conscious of ‘great’ writing, and set my sights right up there. I’d like to think that sometimes I get it close to right, but I almost never look back at something I’ve put out there and think, “Yes, I nailed it!”  I guess it’s like the artist who stands back, looking at the painting, thinking “Is it finished?”  There’s no right answer to that one, I can assure you.

But isn’t it an amazing feeling when you read something written by someone else, and you are lost in the sheer rightness of reading what needed to be said. Almost as if you were on the cusp of thinking it yourself, it resonates so deeply.

That is a gift, and that is the one I aspire to. If I ever reach that shiny peak, I hope you will be with me. The journey may be long, and we will both deserve a moment’s quiet contemplation.

Let me know when you find writing that resonates. It deserves to be shared.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Yes, I nailed it!” On writing and resonance

  1. Oh man. That is good. I fight with myself about that all the time. I sometimes wonder if I will ever write something that will give me the “Yes, I nailed it!” feeling. I have a sneaking feeling we will both get there someday if we keep writing. Great post. I will be back for more.

Leave a Reply

