Libraries, storytelling, advocacy: Not what or how, but why

I know that I’ve been gone for a while.  So much stuff happening that the writer within has taken a short hiatus.  Bear with me while I try to make sense of my changing world.

Sometimes you see something, and it just pings!  Bells ring, resonance happens and you just have to share.  Even though your response is only half-formed, and you know that when you read it back tomorrow, you will think of a hundred better ways to say it.  This is one of those times, and I hope it makes some kind of sense.

First it was advocacy.  Then, cart before horse as usual, came evidence-based-practice.  All of which leads me to a place where I feel the need to shout from the rooftops something that you probably realised long before me.  We MUST stop talking about what we do and how we do it.  No-one cares.

We must say why we do it.  Why libraries?  What is our passion?  What is our purpose?  That is the stuff that will resonate and convert communities into believers.  Watch this, you’ll see what I mean.

And Simon?  What an articulate presenter.  Eighteen minutes very well spent.

With thanks to a fellow tweep, Shannon Walters, for leading me to this 18 minute gem.

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Library futures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Libraries, storytelling, advocacy: Not what or how, but why

  1. Pingback: 10.9.2012 – Bold Promotion. Librarianship Presentations That Impressed. BrandLibraries. | Finding Heroes

Leave a comment