Flipped library: Is it, then, about attitude?

You might have read my earlier post about flipped libraries and maybe you thought, “Wow! She’s totally nuts!”  Not an unlikely reaction, especially if you know me personally.

I was interested to read this, however.  A recent piece from Library Journal called The Original Flipped Classroom | Peer to peer review seems to imply that libraries have been centres of experiential learning for a very long time, rather than sites of eye-drooping boredom as students listen to librarians drone on, and on, and on…

I have to say that I agree that we could very easily transform ourselves into flipping wonderful centres for immersive, experiential, hands-on learning.  Regretfully, I would also say that I’m not sure that most of us are there yet.

What do you think?  How well have you adapted your orientations, programmes and interventions – is your library “that giant, teeming, learner-centered classroom in the middle of the campus”?  Or do you watch the drooping eyelids in despair every time?

Just wondrin’.

This entry was posted in Library futures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flipped library: Is it, then, about attitude?

  1. janholmquist says:

    As a public librarian this is my main focus these days. I understand there is big differences in the learning approach from university / school libraries – to public libraries – We have different roles to play – but still: Learning is a modern library core service.

    • I agree Jan – public libraries do have a different role to play, but many of us are claiming to support life-long learning. I think that our libraries need to offer learning experiences for our customers, too. The challenge is, perhaps, in working with our communities to change their perception of what a visit to their library might look like. If we are not just book warehouses, what will our new services become? Guided tours and talks may well still have their place, but we must be prepared to engage with our customers in new ways. It’s hard, though. The traditions are long-standing!

Leave a comment